Qui nous sommes et qui nous servons

Mission

Autonomiser et soutenir les personnes vivant avec ou affectées par le VIH / sida dans le Maine grâce à des services intégrés de soins, d'éducation, de sensibilisation et de prévention.

Vision

Grâce à l'innovation continue et à une approche dédiée centrée sur le client, nous envisageons de mettre fin à la transmission du VIH et aux décès liés au sida.

Valeurs

Le Centre Frannie Peabody est motivé par notre longue histoire de prestation de services centrés sur le client et de soutien aux personnes vivant avec ou affectées par le VIH / sida, les conditions concomitantes et les obstacles aux soins. Le Centre Frannie Peabody favorise la compassion, la résilience, le courage, la transparence, l'inclusivité, la collaboration et l'innovation, tout en restant inébranlable dans nos objectifs de soutenir une santé durable pour nos clients et la communauté dans son ensemble.

FPC recognizes that oppression is easily replicated within the non-profit field, despite an organization’s stated mission, vision, and values. As such, the agency is committed to the ongoing process of evaluating, and implementing policies, procedures, and practices to ensure FPC is empowering, uplifting, and centering clients, staff, and community partners of historically marginalized identities within groups such as but not limited to: race, gender identity and expression, sexual orientation, class/socioeconomic status, age, ability, religion, native language, immigration status, and ethnicity.

Notre modèle: des services globaux pour soutenir une santé durable

Fournir un accès aux soins par le biais de programmes de gestion de cas , de conseils en santé comportementale et d' aide au logement aide les individus à adhérer aux médicaments critiques contre le VIH, réduisant ainsi la charge virale du VIH. La suppression soutenue de la charge virale réduit le risque de transmission du VIH et contribue à une santé et un bien-être durables. Nos services de réduction des risques, d'éducation et de dépistage du VIH fournissent à la communauté les outils qui répondent le mieux aux besoins individualisés en matière de prévention de l'infection à VIH.

Qui nous servons

Les clients du Centre Frannie Peabody font face à un ensemble diversifié de défis et proviennent d'un large éventail de milieux socio-économiques. Les clients sont âgés de quelques années à plus de soixante-dix ans et représentent plusieurs races, ethnies et pays d'origine différents, ce qui illustre le fait que le VIH / sida nous affecte tous.

Le Centre Frannie Peabody dessert annuellement plus de 400 personnes vivant avec le VIH / SIDA:
  • 60% vivent sous le seuil fédéral de pauvreté

  • 35% sont des survivants de violence domestique

  • 33% ont des antécédents ou sont actuellement sans abri

  • 75% sont aux prises avec des problèmes de toxicomanie et / ou de santé mentale

Financement

Frannie Peabody Center est une organisation à but non lucratif 501 (c) 3. Nos programmes reçoivent des financements de diverses sources, notamment: la partie B de la Ryan White Treatment Modernization Act, les Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC) des États-Unis, le programme de logement pour les personnes atteintes du sida (HOPWA) du Département américain du logement et du développement urbain, Maine Center for Disease Control & Prevention, Maine Office of MaineCare Services, United Way of Greater Portland et York County, ainsi que d'autres fondations privées.

Frannie Peabody

«Frannie a pris le mouvement presque invisible de l'activisme contre le sida dans le Maine et l'a rendu immédiatement respectable… Nous étions là pour arrêter la maladie, rien de moins, et Frannie allait être notre Jeanne d'Arc. - John Preston

Par notre nom et notre travail, nous sommes fiers d'honorer la mémoire et de célébrer l'héritage de Frances W. Peabody (1903-2001), dont la grande énergie et la vision continuent de jouer un rôle déterminant dans la prestation de services et de programmes de lutte contre le VIH / sida dans le sud du Maine.

Catapultée dans l'épidémie de VIH / SIDA à l'âge de 80 ans, lorsque son petit-fils aîné a été diagnostiqué avec le SIDA, Frannie s'est consacrée sans réserve pendant les 18 années suivantes aux besoins des personnes vivant avec le VIH / SIDA, de leurs familles et amis, et des organisations qui servent leur.

Suite au décès de son petit-fils en 1984, Frannie s'est jointe à un groupe de soutien contre le sida. Elle était la seule femme âgée hétéro, aux cheveux blancs, dans un groupe de jeunes hommes homosexuels. Frannie a continué à changer le paysage de l'éducation et des services sur le VIH / SIDA dans le Maine, aidant à établir la première hotline SIDA du Maine en 1985, The AIDS Project (TAP) de Portland en 1985 et co-fondant Peabody House en 1995.

Pendant plus de 10 ans, Frannie a dirigé un groupe de soutien hebdomadaire pour les mères, les amis et les membres de la famille des personnes vivant avec le VIH / sida. Le leader national des Colonial Dames a parlé ouvertement des préservatifs et de la sexualité à quiconque écoutait et était un fervent partisan des droits des homosexuels. Frannie a témoigné devant la législature du Maine sur le projet de loi sur les droits des homosexuels et dans ses dernières années était le Grand Marshall pour la parade annuelle de la fierté à Portland.

Après sa mort en juin 2001, les dirigeants de Peabody House et du AIDS Project ont décidé que nommer la nouvelle organisation fusionnée Frannie Peabody Center était le moyen le plus approprié d'honorer son héritage de service et de faire progresser les soins compatissants pour les années à venir.

Reconnue dans le Maine et à l'échelle nationale pour son leadership extraordinaire dans l'épidémie de VIH / sida, la remarquable vie de service et d'activisme de Frannie Peabody est une inspiration pour tous ceux qui travaillent et font du bénévolat au Frannie Peabody Center.

Conseil d'administration

Michael R. Stevenson, PhD, président

Michael McDonald, vice-président

David Masengesho, trésorier

Justin Burkhardt, secrétaire

Jared Bornstein

Teddy Burrage

Dr Thomas Courtney, MD

KJ Gormley

Theo Greene, PhD

Eileen Levesque, Pharm.D., CSP

Sarah Lewis

Jimmy Lucibello

Timothy D. Stein, Esq.

Tiffany L. Townsend, NP, AAHIVS

Direction

Katie Rutherford
Directeur exécutif

krutherford@peabodycenter.org

Lorena Delcourt

Directeur des finances

ldelcourt@peabodycenter.org

Manuela Arundel
Directeur du développement

marundel@peabodycenter.org

Who We Are & Who We Serve

Mission

Empowering and supporting people living with or affected by HIV/AIDS in Maine through integrative care, education, advocacy, and prevention services.

Vision

Through continued innovation and a dedicated client-centered approach, we envision an end to HIV transmission and AIDS-related deaths.

Values

Frannie Peabody Center is driven by our extensive history of delivering client-centered services and support for people living with or affected by HIV/AIDS, co-occurring conditions, and barriers to care. Frannie Peabody Center fosters compassion, resilience, courage, transparency, inclusiveness, collaboration, and innovation, while remaining steadfast in our goals of supporting sustained health for our clients and the community as a whole.

FPC recognizes that oppression is easily replicated within the non-profit field, despite an organization’s stated mission, vision, and values. As such, the agency is committed to the ongoing process of evaluating, and implementing policies, procedures, and practices to ensure FPC is empowering, uplifting, and centering clients, staff, and community partners of historically marginalized identities within groups such as but not limited to: race, gender identity and expression, sexual orientation, class/socioeconomic status, age, ability, religion, native language, immigration status, and ethnicity.

Our Model: Wrap-around services that support sustained health

Providing access to care through case management, behavioral health counseling, and housing assistance programs supports individuals in adhering to critical HIV medication, thus lowering HIV viral load.  Sustained viral load suppression reduces the risk of transmitting HIV and contributes to lasting health and wellness. Our risk-reduction, education, and HIV testing services provide the community with the tools that best meet individualized needs in preventing HIV infection.

Who We Serve

Frannie Peabody Center clients face a diverse set of challenges and come from a wide range of socio-economic backgrounds. Clients range in age from a few years to over seventy, and represent several different races, ethnicities, and countries of origin, illustrating the fact that HIV/AIDS affects all of us.

 

Frannie Peabody Center serves over 400 people living with HIV/AIDS annually:
  • 60% live below the Federal Poverty Line

  • 35% are survivors of domestic violence

  • 33% have a history of or are currently homeless

  • 75% are dealing with substance abuse and/or mental health issues

Funding

Frannie Peabody Center is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization. Our programs receive funding from various sources, including: Part B of the Ryan White Treatment Modernization Act, the U.S. Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC), U.S. Department of Housing & Urban Development’s Housing Opportunities for People with AIDS program (HOPWA), Maine Center for Disease Control & Prevention, Maine Office of MaineCare Services, United Way of Greater Portland and York County, as well as other private foundations.

Frannie Peabody

“Frannie took the nearly invisible movement of AIDS activism in Maine and made it instantly respectable… We were out to stop the disease, nothing less, and Frannie was going to be our Joan of Arc.”   – John Preston

Through our name and our work, we are proud to honor the memory and celebrate the legacy of Frances W. Peabody (1903-2001), whose great energy and vision continue to be instrumental in providing HIV/AIDS services and programs in Southern Maine.

Catapulted into the HIV/AIDS epidemic at the age of 80, when her eldest grandchild was diagnosed with AIDS, Frannie devoted herself wholeheartedly for the next 18 years to the needs of people with HIV/AIDS, their families and friends, and organizations that serve them.

Following the death of her grandson in 1984, Frannie joined an AIDS support group. She was the only straight, white-haired, elderly woman in a group of young gay men. Frannie went on to change the landscape of HIV/AIDS education and services in Maine, helping to establish Maine’s first AIDS hotline in 1985, Portland’s The AIDS Project (TAP) in 1985, and co-founding Peabody House in 1995.

For over 10 years, Frannie led a weekly support group for mothers, friends and family members of people with HIV/AIDS. The national leader in the Colonial Dames talked openly about condoms and sexuality to whomever would listen and was a staunch supporter of gay rights. Frannie testified before the Maine Legislature on the gay rights bill and in her final years was the Grand Marshall for the annual Pride Parade in Portland.

Following her death in June 2001, leaders from both Peabody House and The AIDS Project decided that naming the new, merged organization Frannie Peabody Center was the most fitting way to honor her legacy of service and advance compassionate care for years to come.

Recognized in Maine and nationally for her extraordinary leadership in the HIV/AIDS epidemic, Frannie Peabody’s remarkable life of service and activism is an inspiration to all of those who work and volunteer at Frannie Peabody Center.

Board of Directors

Michael R. Stevenson, PhD,  President

Michael McDonald, Vice President

David Masengesho, Treasurer

Justin Burkhardt, Secretary

Jared Bornstein

Teddy Burrage

Dr. Thomas Courtney, M.D.

KJ Gormley

Theo Greene, PhD

Eileen Levesque,  Pharm.D., CSP

Sarah Lewis

Jimmy Lucibello

Timothy D. Stein, Esq.

Tiffany L. Townsend, NP, AAHIVS

Leadership

Katie Rutherford, she/her
Executive Director

krutherford@peabodycenter.org

Lorena Delcourt, she/her

Finance Director

ldelcourt@peabodycenter.org

Manuela Arundel, she/her
Development Director

marundel@peabodycenter.org